MARTYNA ZAKRZEWSKA: pianist—soloist and chamber musician—specialising in performance of contemporary music. She obtained a master’s degree in the Academy of Music in Kraków, having studied with prof. Mariusz Sielski and prof. Milena Kędra, as well as graduated in Neue Klavier Musik from Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln, where she studied in classes led by prof. Pierre-Laurent Aimard and by prof. David Smeyers. She was awarded special prize in the 2014 edition of the 20th– & 21st-Century Music Competition for Young Performers in Radziejowice, a scholarship from Poland’s Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, and a grant from the President of the City of Kraków. She has taken masterclasses from Aleksey Orlovetsky, Nicolas Hodges, Benjamin Kobler, Sebastian Berweck, Maciej Grzybowski, Musikfabrik, Ensemble Modern, and ensemble recherche, among other pianists and ensembles, and attended the impuls Academy in Graz, Darmstadt’s Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, Ostrava Days, and Stockhausen-kurse in Kürten. When studying in Cologne, she gained experience in conducting and took up improvisation too, developing in these fields under prof. Paul Alvares […]



Voices and piano (selection) for piano and tape
Simata for prepared piano
À tombeau ouvert for solo piano



Quatre pièces fébriles for percussion and piano
Alter-face for two pianos
Sonata for two pianos and percussion
Contrasts for clarinet, violin and piano


March 24th, 25th, and 26th, 2021
MOS, Kraków
Opera Rara
Spółdzielnia Muzyczna contemporary ensemble


Peter Eötvös, The Golden Dragon


ZAKRZEWSKA/MGLEJ. Barbara (Mglej) and Martyna (Zakrzewska) have been playing with each other for years. They began interpreting 20th- and 21st-century music together in 2013. In 2014 they, among others, formed Spółdzielnia Muzyczna contemporary ensemble—a group specialising in performance of new music. The two get along very well on stage as well as in rehearsals; hence their wish to collaborate outside the ensemble too […]


DEBACKER/ZAKRZEWSKA. Collaboration between Martyna Zakrzewska and Marlies Debacker revolves around new pieces for two pianos and piano four hands. The two pianists are taking a keen interest in the versatility of the keyobard as well as of the instrument’s inside, looking for new ways of shaping the sound of a piano duo […]